Happy Birthday!

Hello, Internet!

I made good on my promise to try and make the birthday cake jello shots I previously featured from Sweet Tooth for my small birthday get-together! Huge snafoo: I couldn’t find plain gelatin. So instead, I used 2 packets of cherry gelatin, which made the tiny cupcakes INCREDIBLY sweet- and almost too hard to eat. Boo. They weren’t totally horrible, though. And let’s face it- after a few drinks it didn’t matter anyway!

Also, I couldn’t find a mini cupcake mold so I used a candy mold. It worked for the most part, but they turned out a little smaller than had they been set in a mini cupcake mold.

Birthday Cake Jello Shots

2/3 cup cream soda

2/3 cup cranberry juice cocktail

1 tbsp heavy cream

2 envelopes plain gelatin

2/3 cup cake-flavored vodka (I was very generous here)

Whipped cream

Sprinkles

Lightly spray the mold with non-stick spray and wipe excess off with a paper towel. Pour the soda, juice, and cream into a medium saucepan and sprinkle the gelatin on top. Allow the gelatin to soak for 2-3 minutes, then begin to heat on low, stirring constantly until gelatin is fully dissolved (about 5 minutes). Remove saucepan from heat and add vodka (mmm). Pour into molds and chill for several hours, or until set. Remove from mold, top with whipped cream, and enjoy!

Luckily I enlisted my roommate to make regular jello shooters (just jello, vodka and water) and those turned out excellent! So we had a backup!

Yummy!

Leave a comment