Who has time to cook these days?

I have been everywhere but home since finishing my first year of law school. San Diego, Santa Barbara, Las Vegas, New York- and I leave for EUROPE in a little over week- what?! I’ve tried a few recipes here and there, but nothing to write (blog) home about.

The first dish I made was a peach and raspberry crisp, which made the apartment smell divine, but it didn’t retain its “crispiness” overnight wasn’t stellar the next day when I shared it with my family. (Oh! I just received a Yelp Deal via email for a wine-making class in Camarillo! Totes purchasing…) Plus, I lost my camera in San Diego (completely sober I might add, I swear I was robbed by parrot) so I have no pictures to post anyway!

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/peach-and-raspberry-crisp-recipe/index.html

The second recipe that didn’t go so well was a spaghetti with almond bread crumbs. I put the almonds in the Super Oven to toast for 2 SECONDS. 2 SECONDS and they were burnt to a crisp. I hate you, Super Oven! Plus, I added WAY too much of the bread crumb mixture to the pasta- it wasn’t edible. And it looked nothing like the picture, it was just a big, brown mess. I ended up eating a cookie for dinner. All aboard the fail boat… (I didn’t even try to mess with the bottarga in this recipe. After googling it, I decided I would pass.)

http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/spaghetti-with-bottarga-and-almond-bread-crumbs

On a more positive note, here’s some things I have enjoyed eating in the last few weeks:

Pizza from Roberta’s in Brooklyn! Mozzarella, parmigiano, arugula, lemon and prosciutto cotto. I died and went to pizza heaven. Perhaps it was because I was 3 glasses of wine in, but either way this pizza was delicious! “Located in a former garage in the Bushwick neighborhood of Brooklyn…” I highly recommend this hipsters’ paradise of a pizza parlor.

http://www.robertaspizza.com/

It’s-Its, the life-changing dessert! I remember looking for these in Santa Barbara and not being able to find them, and then low and behold I found them a few weeks ago at a grocery store on the West Side. I was born in Northern California- why didn’t I know about these sooner?! I LOVE that the cookie inside is oatmeal instead of chocolate chip, it’s simply perfect. I’ve since spotted them at the Met in SB (and like a nerd I took a picture of their freezer with my BlackBerry for my food blog, excuse me while I push my glasses up…)

I love the Met, one of my favorite spots in town. I also picked up some yummy olives when I was there last!

http://www.metrofinefoods.com/

The latest issue of Food & Wine was all about grilling, which is fantastic except that I kind of hate grilling because I don’t know how to do it (well). I don’t even know how to turn a grill on, really. I used to make my roommate at the sorority house turn our grill on for me. But I do love eating grilled things. Also, the grills in my building are on the roof, so I have to carry my food up and down in the elevator- not ideal. More to come on this dilemma…

Because I leave for London next week, and there isn’t a kitchen in my “dorm” room, I probably won’t be cooking much in the next month or so. But I will take pictures of all the delicious Euro food I come across while abroad and share it here! I’m also going to make a travel blog so my friends and family can keep tabs on me while I’m gone- I’ll be sure to update this post with the link once it’s done!

http://englanderin.wordpress.com/

Arrivederci! (She hates me.)

Leave a comment